Build Your Adventure
Loren Barske Wins 'Best of Show'

August 22, 2017

Antigo Daily Journal

Antigo Daily Journal

The Badgerland Classics and Customs club held one of its most successful shows in Antigo’s Peaceful Valley Park Sunday, drawing more than 300 cars for display and thousands of people looking them over, and perhaps dreaming a bit.

Jeff Ralph, president of Badgerland, was very pleased after the trophies were distributed later Sunday afternoon, and the proud car owners were posing for photographs.

This has been a very good day, he said, just after presenting Loren Barske with the Best of Show plaques and trophy. Barske was showing a 1935 Plymouth two-door sedan painted inferno red.

Loren Barske of Antigo with his 1937 Plymouth and
trophies after receiving the Best of Show Sunday.

Tucked under the hood was a powerful hemi engine, not on the list of options back in 1935.

Ralph noted that Antigo-area car owners were very well represented among the winners.

Here is the Badgerland list of those who scored well on Sunday.

Best Orphan Stock

The title for the best Orphan Stock went to Todd Ostermeier, Antigo for his 1971 AMC AMX.

Best Orphan Modified

The title for the best Orphan Modified went to Dick and Charlene Kemmer, Antigo for their 1941 Willys.

Best GM Stock

The best GM stock title went to Dick Diestler, Schofield for his 1958 Chevy 3100 Apache.

Best GM Modified

The best GM modified title went to James and Carol Dryton, St. Germain for their 1949 Chevy Pickup.

Best Ford Stock

The best Ford stock title went to Sharon Wilson, White Lake for her 1963 Ford Falcon.

Best Ford Modified

The best Ford modified title went to Larry Heise, White Lake, for his 1929 Ford A.

Best Mopar Stock

The best Mopar stock title went to Larry Gast, Tilleda, for his 1959 Plymouth Sport Fury.

Best Mopar Modified

The best Mopar modified title went to Loren Barske, Antigo for his 1935 Plymouth 2 door Sedan.

Memorial Trophies

The Jerry Keen Memorial trophy went to Tom and Mardell Pagel, Merrill for their 1968 Chevelle Nomad Wagon.

The Dale Quirk Memorial trophy went to Al Kuck, Shawano for his 1933 Plymouth Coupe.

The Dick Kakes Memorial trophy went to Richard Garbelman, Shwano for his 1955 Chevy 210.

The Dan Shimeck Memorial trophy went to Russ and Sandy Mayou, Menominee for their 1955 Chevy Bel Air.

The Dick Boettcher Memorial trophy went to James and Carol Drayton, St. Germain for his 1949 Chevy Pickup.

The Jeff Wunrow Memorial trophy went to Colton Schroepfer, Bonduel for his 1970 Ford Mustang.

Class Winners

1900-1954 stock auto, first, George Schaumacher, Antigo, 1937 Plymouth P4; second, Orvis Resler, Athelstane, 1950 Desoto four door; third, Karl Richter, Keshena, 1951 Ford Custom.

1955-1960 stock auto, first, Larry Gast, Tilleda, 1959 Plymouth Sport Fury; second, Frank Henry, Wausau, 1957 Ford Fairlane 500; third, Mary Heise, White Lake, 1955 Pontiac Star Chief.

1961-1965 stock auto, first, Sharon Wilson, White Lake, 1963 Ford Falcon; second, Ken and Barb Adams, Merrill, 1965 Buick Gran Sport; third, Al Housholder, Auburndale, 1965 Pontiac Grand Prix.

1966-1967 stock auto, first, Don Steinman, Rib Lake, 1966 Mercury Cyclone; second, Keith Weyers, Shiocton, 1967 Chevrolet Chevelle SS; third, Gary and Barb Bohm, Wausau, 1967 Chevrolet Chevelle.

1968-1969 stock auto, first, Lorin Wilson, White Lake, 1968 Pontiac GTO; second, Jim and Sharon Dombrowski, Amherst, 1969 Ford Mach 1 Mustang; third, Carol Huntington, Shawano, 1969 Chevy Chevelle.

1970-1972 stock auto, first, Todd Ostermeier, Antigo, 1971 AMC AMX; second, Al Peil, Appleton, 1970 Chevrolet Chevelle SS; third, John and Susan Bahlow, Wausau, 1971 Dodge Charger.

1973-1983 stock auto, first, Tom Kurth Jr., Wausau, 1976 Oldsmobile 442; second, Loren Barske, Antigo, 1977 Pontiac Trans Am; third, Mike Juecks, Schofield, 1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass.

1984-1999 stock auto, first, Chris and Stacy Orgeman, Birnamwood, 1999 Pontiac Trans Am; second, Steve and Janet Mitwede, Wausau, 1985 Olds Toronado; third, Mark Bergs, Wausau, 1996 Chevrolet Carmaro.

2000 to present stock auto, first, Jay Beyer, Peshtigo, 2010 Dodge Challenger; second, Chuck and Lori Filtz, Hatley, 2012 Ford Mustang Boss 302; third, Chuck Sauer, Gleason, 2000 Pontiac Trans Am.

1900-1966 stock truck, first, Dick Diestler, Schofield, 1958 Chevy 3100 Apache; second, Viola Resler, Athelstane, 1965 Ford Econoline; third, Larry Gast, Tilleda, 1959 Chevrolet Apache.

1967-2000 stock truck, first, Mike Reinert, Tigerton, 1979 Dodge Lil Red Express; second, John Phillipp, Wittenberg, 1969 Chevy Custom 10; third, Larry and Zach Neutzke, Ringle, 1969 Ford F100 Ranger.

Commercial one ton, first, Pedro Schumacher, Bryant, 1985 Chevy Pickup K30; second, Alex Bula Forwarding, Antigo, 1985 Freightliner Cabover; third, Jeff Peterson, Antigo, 1986 Peterbuilt 359.

1900-1934 modified auto, first, Larry Heise, White Lake, 1929 Ford A; second, Tony’s Hot Rod Shop, Antigo, 1934 Ford Hot Rod Coupe; third, Vicki and Ron Schroepfer, Bonduel, 1930 Ford A.

1935-1948 modified auto, first, Loren Barske, Antigo, 1935 Plymouth 2 door sedan; second, John and Bonnie Brunner, Bowler, 1936 Ford Coupe; third, Don Fischer, Antigo, 1939 Chevy Coupe.

1949-1962 modified auto, first, Larry FryFogle, Appleton, 1951 Mercury custom; second, Larry Heise, White Lake, 1955 Chevy Bel Air; third, Roger Badora, Oconto, 1955 Chevrolet 210.

1963-1972 modified auto, first, Tom and Mardell Pagel, Merrill, 1968 Chevy Nomad Wagon; second, Colton Schroepfer, Bonduel, 1970 Ford Mustang; third, Don Bergbower, Deerbrook, 1965 Pontiac GTO.

1973-1999 modified auto, first, Gene and Paula Heil, Marathon, 1974 Dodge Challenger; second, Ed Hintz, Wausau, 1985 Chevrolet Monte Carlo; third, Becky Stull, Amherst Junction, 1979 Chevrolet Camaro Z28.

2000 to present modified auto, first, Harry Liebergen, Lakewood, first, 2004 Chevy Corvette; second, John and Carol Berg, Marshfield, 2006 Ford Mustang; third, Ron and Arlene Mews, Plover, 2008 Ford Mustang GT.

1900-1966 modified truck, first, James and Carol Drayton, St. Germain, 1949 Chevy Pickup; second, John and Bonnie Brunner, Bowler, 1940 Ford Pickup; third, Thomas Schnese, Appleton, 1962 Chevy C10.

1967 to present modified truck, first, Luke Kuhr, Bryant, 1971 Ford Ranchero; second, Scott St. Vincent, Antigo, 1967 GMC CM15; third, Tom Kilboren, Pickerel, 1985 Ford F350.

1953-1982 Corvette, first, Brack Gillespie, Green Bay, 1960 Chevy Corvette; second, Gary and Cindy Janssen, Merrill, 1961 Chevy Corvette; third, Frank Braiske, Lakewood, 1957 Chevy Corvette.

1983 to present Corvette, first, Richard Sorgent, Antigo, 2002 Chevy Corvette; second, Joe Gillespie, Antigo, 2013 Chevy Corvette; third, Gary Kieper, Antigo, 1997 Chevy Corvette.

Motorcycle Class

Dresser class winner went to Butch Perrot, Antigo for his Harley Bagger.

The customs class winners went to Shawn Perrot, Elcho, 2004 Harley Softtail, first; Don Incha, Antigo, 2008 Harley, second; Steve Busche, Antigo, 2007 Big Dog, third.

Vintage class winner is Tony Majewski, Sobieski, 1972 Honda XL250.

Click here for more information. »