Build Your Adventure
Eight Langlade County Towns & Village of White Lake Have Contests

March 31, 2011

Antigo Daily Journal

Antigo Daily Journal

Eight Langlade County towns, plus the village of White Lake, will have contested contests for municipal office in Tuesday’s spring election.

Chairman contests are scheduled in the towns of Ackley, Elcho and Summit. There will be contests for one or both supervisor positions in Elcho, Neva, Peck, Rolling, Summit, Upham and Wolf River.

There is also one contested race for village of White Lake trustees.

Contested races

Ackley: There will be a race for chairman, where incumbent Michael Kennedy is being challenged by Marshall Wirz.

Running unopposed for re-election are supervisors Don Incha Sr. and Charles Noskowiak; Amy Meeks, clerk; and Gary Kieper, treasurer.

Elcho: Incumbent chairman Richard Olsen will be challenged by Ryan Siemers, who also filed papers for supervisor. Supervisor candidates are incumbent Jeff McKinney, Siemers and Mike Rustick. Incumbent Phil Migas is not seeking re-election.

Melissa Bloechl is running unopposed for clerk/treasurer.

Neva: There will be a race for the two town supervisor positions. Incumbent John Mattek will be joined on the ballot by Jerry Aulik and Tony Koss.

Running unopposed are incumbents David Solin, chairman, Charlene Bauknecht, clerk, and Kathleen Resch, treasurer.

Peck: Supervisors David Gregurich and David Frisch will be joined on the ballot by Kenneth Zupon and Ted Hofrichter.

Dan Walrath will run unopposed for a new term as chairman. Katie Hovland-Frisch, clerk, and Cynthia Walrath, treasurer, are also seeking re-election without opposition.

Rolling: There will be a race for the two supervisor positions. Incumbents Ron Nye and Leslie Rasmussen will be joined on the ballot by Sheldon Damos and Dave Kautza.

Running unopposed are Norman Cejka, chairman; Peg Schroepfer, clerk; and Jean Andraschko, treasurer.

Summit: Voters in the town of Summit will decided between incumbent Donald King Jr. and challenger Michael Parizek for chairman. For supervisor 2, Dan Szitta is being challenged by Jeremy Chapin.

Running unopposed are incumbents Brian Parizek, supervisor 1; Deborah Burkhart, clerk; and Dianne King, treasurer.

Upham: Incumbent supervisors Roger Henke and James Jansen will be joined on the ballot by Pat Raith.

Running unopposed are Larry Anderson, chairman, Leah Antoniewicz, clerk; and Tim Murphy, treasurer.

Wolf River: Three candidates are seeking two town supervisor positions. Incumbents William Majest and Susan Hawley, will be joined on the ballot by Chris Berry.

Running unopposed are incumbents Casper Buettner, chairman; Mary Lee Heise, clerk; and Linda Frank, treasurer.

Village of White Lake: There will be a race to fill a one-year term as trustee between John Pomasl and Carol Blawat.

Running unopposed are Joe Edelman, president; and Mary Schiefelbein, trustee.

Uncontested races:

Ainsworth: Incumbents are running unopposed. They are Richard Guenther, chairman; Theodore Jacobsen Sr. and Patricia Girtz, supervisors; Kay Koller, clerk; and Mimi Wreczycki, treasurer.

Antigo: All incumbents are running unopposed. They are Richard Parilek, chairman; Jon Petroskey and Wayne Schroeder, supervisors; Rosemary Servi, clerk; and Cindy Igl, treasurer. Daryl Rasmussen is constable.

Evergreen: Incumbents are running unopposed. They are Gerald McGee, chairman; Thomas Muraski and Scott Clark, supervisors; Mary Mauk, treasurer; and Vondalee Straley, clerk.

Langlade: There will be some changes on the Langlade town board, but all candidates are running unopposed. Cathy St. John will move from supervisor to chairman, replacing Gary Stith Sr., who is not seeking re-election. Incumbent supervisor Doran Arrowood will be joined by Greg Steenweg.

Also running unopposed are incumbents Claudia Clark, clerk, and Sandra Steenweg, treasurer.

Norwood: Incumbents are running unopposed. They are Craig Wilhelm, chairman; Greg Verhasselt and David Dahms, supervisors; Paula Resch, clerk; and Kim Bissonette, treasurer.

Parrish: Incumbents Tim Newman, chairman; Kurt Nierode and Jeremy Fisher, supervisors, are running unopposed. The jobs of clerk and treasurer are appointed.

Polar: Incumbents William Walton, chairman; Craig Walters and Paul Schuman, supervisors, are running unopposed. Also running without opposition are Lisa Kuenzli, clerk, and Carol Estreen, treasurer.

Price: Incumbents are running unopposed for re-election. They are Richard Hafner, chairman; Greg Schroepfer and Carl Thiede, supervisors; Jennifer Sieghold, clerk; and Dena Burkhart, treasurer.

Vilas: There will be a new chairman, with David Nicholson running unopposed for the position. Dawn Moller is also seeking the job of town clerk without opposition.

Current chairman Louis Krivoshein and incumbent James Cole are running without opposition for the supervisor slots. Incumbent Debra Marshall has no opposition for treasurer.

Click here for more information. »